God Glasses

God GlassesI think I need God-glasses. He clearly sees things differently than I do. From my perspective, situations can sometimes seem wearisome. People, at times, can be exasperating. I have a tendency to wonder, why can’t everything in life just line up with my way of thinking?

Then, once again, I am caught up short by God’s Word. 1 Peter 2:4, talks about Jesus. We are told that He was “a living stone rejected by men but in the sight of God chosen and precious.” What’s another word that people in our culture use for loser? You’re a reject. The one who nobody else cares about. The failure who doesn’t meet the expectations of those who truly matter. That’s how people saw Jesus. He was rejected by men.

But that’s a far cry from how the Father saw Him. God’s perception of Jesus was that He was “precious and chosen.” Talk about a radically different viewpoint. That’s pretty much 180 degrees away from what the people thought.

I can’t help but wonder how often my way of thinking is just as far removed from God’s. That’s why I think I need God-glasses. Those situations that I often find frustrating may well be the very means that the Lord will use to alter and shape me more into His image. The people who I would prefer to slap are, oftentimes, ones sent by God to mold and shape my character.

Father, cause me to more and more view people and circumstances from your vantage point. Amen.

This entry was posted in Scriptural Perspective and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to God Glasses

  1. Brooke Orozco says:

    Great one, thanks Tom – this was a good reminder…. Sam has a Tshirt that says “Some people just need a high five….. to the face” ha ha – when you said maybe the people you want to slap are in your life to mold you, it made me thing of his Tshirt.

    Ok. Bye

Leave a Reply

