Seeking the Lord

seeking the LordAwhile back, I watched a documentary video about communist oppression in Eastern Europe during the 1960s. Some people hid for years in the forests. Underground dens, camouflaged huts, elaborate warning systems, and many other ideas kept them hidden from their adversaries. Soldiers sometimes marched right next to or over the hiding places and never saw them.

Contrast that type of hiding with a very different notion of hiding. When my kids were younger, we sometimes played hide and seek. When I hid, it was always with the intent of them finding me. Toes sticking out from beneath drapes, closet doors left ajar, fingers in plain sight on door frames, were all done intentionally to allow them to find me.

“You will seek me and find me. When you seek me with all your heart, I will be found by you, declares the Lord” (Jeremiah 29:13-14).

When Scripture tells us to “seek the Lord”—in Jeremiah 29 and many other places—it’s not because He is hiding like those people in Eastern Europe. He’s not trying to make sure we can’t find Him. Instead, it’s more like me with my kids. He wants us to find Him. He desires for us to know Him.

Of course, God isn’t actually hidden. “For what can be known about God is plain … For his invisible attributes, namely, his eternal power and divine nature, have been clearly perceived, ever since the creation of the world, in the things that have been made” (Romans 1:19).

Someone once said that God is hiding … in plain sight.

So seek Him. Read and study His Word. Pray. Meditate on His greatness, His goodness, His faithfulness, His compassion, His holiness, His mercy, and His love. Seek Him.

This entry was posted in Scriptural Perspective and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Seeking the Lord

  1. Beck Gambill says:

    I love that he wants to be found and doesn’t resent us uncovering his hiding place. Maybe some moments of our life are God drawing attention to his hiding place, when we, like my toddlers would, lose interest. I would clear my throat or rustle the curtains to draw their attention back to their pursuit so they wouldn’t give up. Maybe instead of pitching a fit about an inconvenience or scare we should recognize God is drawing our attention to the task of searching at hand. Hmmm.

Leave a Reply

