Oleviste Church, Tallinn, Estonia

Oleviste ChurchI recently visited Tallinn, Estonia. I was there researching a writing project on which I am working.

Oleviste Church in Tallinn, is more than 400 feet tall, and is believed to have been built originally in the twelfth century. In the late 1970s and early 80s, the church experienced an amazing revival. It was a revival of biblically epic proportions. Tens of thousands of people were born again and physically healed… people from all over the Soviet Union. I wish I had room to share all the stories we heard as we interviewed eye witnesses.

One woman, who was a teenager during this time period, was born again during the revival. She had never before read a Bible. When she read the Gospels for the first time, she thought the things she read were great, but they were the same things she saw happening in her church at the time: blind eyes opened, lame people walked, mute people spoke. She realizes now what a tremendous outpouring the Lord allowed her – and so many others – to experience.

There are numerous Russian churches right here in the U.S., not to mention many more throughout Russia, who trace their roots to the revival at Oleviste.

To me, the fact that such a revival happened at all is amazing. That it happened under the communist regime makes it even more amazing. But the fact that it happened right next door to the KGB headquarters for the entire western Soviet Union is mind-boggling.

If you know me and my writing, I’m not given to weird and wacko kinds of things. But God’s fingerprints are clearly all over this story. It is amazing! Pray for me as I continue to research and write. I’ll keep you posted.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Oleviste Church, Tallinn, Estonia

  1. Beck says:

    Wow! I can’t wait to hear more about it. Sometimes I think our view of God’s fame and power in the earth is so terribly small.

  2. Mark Lopez says:

    Love it…..such a cool story ….the more I hear the better it gets!
    Mark L

Leave a Reply

