Conscience … and a Creator

When I was about three or four years old, I remember visiting a home with my mother. She and her friend were in another room, leaving me alone to play. I found a small plastic toy knight that fascinated me. After much deliberation – and checking to be sure I wasn’t being watched – I pocketed it. I took that “treasure” home with me, being careful to not let my mom see it. Problem was, every time I went to play with it, I felt nauseous. There was a nagging feeling on the inside that didn’t go away. I knew stealing that toy was wrong. Oddly, this is one of the very earliest remembrances I have in my life.

It should be noted here that I didn’t grow up in a religious home. But I learned something from that stolen toy. People don’t need to be taught right from wrong. There is an innate sense within us – at least in general terms – of what is right and what is wrong.* This is not a cultural idea. Every culture, no matter how “primitive” or “advanced,” recognizes certain things as right and wrong.

The theory of evolution – the idea that random particles came from nowhere, merged together and now we have life – cannot explain conscience, the sense of right and wrong. But the idea that a Creator made us and implanted an innate sense of right and wrong certainly does.

From my perspective, it takes far more “faith” to believe in evolution than it does to believe in a Creator.


*This is not to imply that we always do right, just that we know what it is. And it should also be understood that it is possible to become numb to that sense of right and wrong if we ignore it again and again.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Conscience … and a Creator

  1. Mark L. says:

    once again, Amen!!

Leave a Reply

