Further Election Thoughts

voteSo many people commented to me about my last post, that I felt compelled to add some further thoughts.

A big part of why I shared my last post – a rare-for-me political post – is because of the panic and fear that I see and hear today as we approach the election.

Author and pastor, Charles Drew, said, “Those who bemoan the moral and social disintegration of American culture are often right. But when they speak to us in such a way as to stir up fear and panic in our hearts, they are wrong. Our God reigns, and therefore we need not – we must not – be afraid as we exercise our civic responsibilities, no matter what seems to be going on around us…. When I choose political and social action because I am afraid, even if I can justify that action from Scripture, I am denying God at a deep level. I am acting from unbelief. I am taking his majestic name in vain.” [Charles Drew, Body Broken: Can Republicans and Democrats Sit in the Same Pew?, Greensboro, NC: New Growth Press, 2012, pg. 5 (Kindle version)]

Wow! Think about that. “When I choose political and social action because I am afraid … I am denying God at a deep level.”

It’s true!

If we make choices out of fear – If I don’t do this, here’s the calamity that may well befall me/us – what does that say about our faith, about our trust in God? If we’re more motivated by panic than by right and godly choices, maybe there’s something wrong.

The Bible declares:

“The Lord reigns; he is robed in majesty; the Lord is robed; he has put on strength as his belt. Yes, the world is established; it shall never be moved. Your throne is established from of old; you are from everlasting.” (Psalm 93:1-2)

If you read that passage honestly, who’s in charge? I mean ultimately and totally in charge? It’s God! Even when everything looks dark, God is still in control.

Remember Joseph in Egypt? Unjustly accused. Thrown into prison. And then – in a single day – he went from being in prison to being the number two guy in charge of the most powerful nation then in existence. Who caused that?

It was God. Oh, his brothers were the humans involved, but remember what Joseph said?

“As for you, you meant evil against me, but God meant it for good, to bring it about that many people should be kept alive, as they are today.” (Genesis 50:20)

God brought about that scenario.

Or think of Daniel in Babylon. He was hauled away into slavery, into a corrupt and pagan culture that was known for their wanton indulgence. And when it looked like Daniel was doing well, all of a sudden his life was unjustly threatened. But he was rescued from the mouths of hungry lions because … he was such a kind man, right?

No! It was because God was with him, watching over him. And God, through Daniel, radically transformed the heart of the king. It was after the incident with the lions that King Darius made an amazing statement:

“I make a decree, that in all my royal dominion people are to tremble and fear before the God of Daniel, for he is the living God, enduring forever; his kingdom shall never be destroyed, and his dominion shall be to the end.” (Daniel 6:26)

God does not need perfect political or governmental systems to bless and take care of and provide for His people.

So, as you vote this year, don’t make your choices out of fear. Instead, make an informed decision that you have prayed over and one where you have considered the precepts of God’s Word.

But in the end, remember that neither the burden of transformation, nor the future of our nation, rests on your shoulders. We have a civic duty to perform. Ultimately though, God’s wisdom and power will prevail.

This entry was posted in Scriptural Perspective and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Further Election Thoughts

  1. Laurie McKinven-Copus says:

    A cogent and timely essay. Thank you, Tom Kraeuter!

Leave a Reply

