United

unitedI just returned from the local celebration of the National Day of Prayer. I had the privilege of praying with other Christian leaders from the area, for our community, our nation, our leaders, our families, our churches, and more.

For some reason, I’ve got this crazy notion that when Jesus prayed for His followers to be one, just as He and the Father are one – “that they may be one, even as we are one” (John 17:11) – that He meant it. It was an honest, sincere prayer from His heart, the heart of God.

Further, I don’t think He’s changed His mind about that. He still – today – wants His Body to be united. He wants His Church to be unified.

So as we prayed together today, I prayed that we would be united. I prayed that we as leaders, and our congregations, would willingly work together more and more. That people would recognize us as Christ’s followers because of our love for one another.

Call me crazy, but I think that’s God’s desire.

“I do not ask for these only, but also for those who will believe in me through their word, that they may all be one…” (John 17:20-21)

This entry was posted in Scriptural Perspective and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to United

  1. tfreesherrio says:

    Good words to remember Tom. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

