Stop the Hype

hypeIt’s becoming increasingly challenging to describe God, or even heavenly things, in our culture. Let me explain why I believe that, but I’m going to take a circuitous route to get there.

I love my wife’s apple pie. It’s a Dutch apple pie with a crumb topping. Her mom was born in Holland, so maybe the making of Dutch apple pie is inherited. I don’t know for sure. I do know that the pie is out of this world. It is unquestionably the best apple pie I have ever tasted. Now don’t get the idea that you can just pop by our house and have some. She doesn’t make it very often. It’s a special treat. If you ever have the opportunity to try it, though, you’ll immediately know what I’m talking about. Did I mention that I love my wife’s apple pie?

Now let me ask you a question. If, after that whole apple pie story, I said, “And I also love my wife,” wouldn’t that seem a bit strange? It could easily sound as though I am putting my “love” for apple pie on the same level as my love for my wife. In reality, there is no comparison between the two. (Just to be clear, I love my wife far more than her apple pie.)

Hyperbole. We all use it.

A guy sitting next to me on a plane recently told about a man on his last flight who was snoring raucously. “There’s nothing worse,” he declared. In my mind I wondered, Nothing worse? So, someone nearby snoring loudly – maybe even extremely loudly – is worse than all the people that ISIS has killed? Worse than the mom in our area who shot her three daughters and then turned the gun on herself? Worse than millions of Jews dying at the hands of a political leader gone mad?

I really don’t think so. In fact, it’s not even a close comparison. Yet we hear it regularly.

The movie was epic. The experience was the absolute best thing that has ever happened. It was the funniest thing ever. The meal was glorious.

We use grandiose terms in trivial ways. In doing so, such words and phrases become devoid of meaning. They lose all sense of relativity. Each experience, event, or even trinket is somehow greater and more wonderful than the last.

And then we try to describe God using the same words.

It won’t work.

Here’s my recommendation. Dial back the hype. When you notice yourself overstating something, change the phrasing. Save the heavenly descriptions for heavenly things, not earthly ones. No food – even the best chocolate or the best bacon on the planet – won’t compare to what we’ll enjoy there. No experience here will be quite the same as what’s waiting for us. No human being is even close to what God is like.

So, let’s save the superlative phraseology for the things that deserve such descriptions.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stop the Hype

  1. sheryl struse says:

    Mr. Kraeuter Your blog truly does make me think! I appreciate your words, keep them coming!

Leave a Reply

