Worship in the Midst of Tragedy

worship with abandonAwhile back, I had the opportunity to meet Cara Brovont. She’s a bubbly young Christian mom from Indiana. It didn’t take long for me to realize she had quite a story to tell.

When she was just 23-years-old, married for less than four years, with two little girls, Cara’s husband, Derek, died in a tragic accident. I can’t imagine such a scenario. She admitted that it wasn’t easy, but her faith brought her through.

I asked Cara about her worship life. She responded, “Before Derek passed away I really didn’t view worship properly.” She told me that afterward she could picture Derek before the throne of God in heaven, worshiping. That image had a profound effect on her own worship life. “Worship has taken on an entirely different dimension.”

“Yesterday at church we sang the song, ‘Hallelujah, What a Savior.’ And I couldn’t even sing because I was so caught up in the awesomeness and purity and sovereignty of God. I just stood there and wept as I thought, ‘Hallelujah! What a Savior!’ Each day I look forward to taking the time to just focus on the Lord and worship Him.”

Indeed, what a Savior! Even in the midst of tragedy, even as we grieve a loss or pain, we can still worship that great Savior. He is still worthy.

(Adapted from Worshiping God in the Hard Times, by Tom Kraeuter, ©2009 Training Resources, Inc., Hillsboro, Missouri. Get your copy at http://training-resources.org/worshiping_god_in_the_hard_times.html)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Worship in the Midst of Tragedy

  1. Beck Gambill says:

    My mom died a couple of weeks ago and I’ve found this to be so true. Nothing sharpens our imagination about heavenly worship and builds a bridge for our hearts like having a piece of our heart there.

Leave a Reply

