“Abide in My Love”

God's loveJesus said, “As the Father has loved me, so have I loved you. Abide in my love” (John 15:9). The word as is generally used as a comparative. “The pile of laundry seemed as big as a mountain.” It is used to compare one thing to another. Young’s Literal Translation of the Bible phrases John 15:9 like this, “According as the Father did love me, I also loved you…”

Just like the Father loves Jesus, so Jesus loves us. And since Jesus and the Father are one, that’s a big deal. In fact, just two chapters later, Jesus prayed to His Father. He asked that His followers would recognize that the Father “loved them even as you [the Father] loved me” (John 17:23).

We are loved by God in the same way that God loved the perfect God-Man, Jesus. You’re not a second-class citizen in His kingdom. You are loved, and loved greatly!

Jesus adds four more words at the end: “Abide in my love.” What does it mean to abide in something? If you abide in your home, you live there, right? If you abide under a bridge, same thing. Our abode – the noun form of abide – is the place where we dwell. Strong’s Concordance defines the Greek word for abide as staying “in a given place, state, relation or expectancy.”

Abide in my love. Live there. Stay there. Dwell in my love.

That’s a good place to live, isn’t it?

This entry was posted in Scriptural Perspective and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

