In the End, God Is Good

God Is GoodI have a dear friend who has been in missions work for years. Her last assignment, though, left her wounded and battle-scarred. The people she ended up serving under treated her, and others, with contempt. They cared little for anyone or anything except receiving personal approval from select, well-positioned people. Everyone else was pretty much inconsequential.

Certainly, the very notion of moving to another country—one with a completely different culture—is no cakewalk. It could, for any of us, be an intimidating proposition. But we would never expect opposition within the ranks of those we are there to serve with. Camaraderie with an occasional disagreement, maybe, but not outright contempt.

My friend told me the biggest lesson she learned was to trust the Lord in the midst of the situation. She said that she prayed, “Lord, whether I ever understand this or not doesn’t matter. You are still God, and I trust You.”

I asked her, “What would you tell someone who was in the midst of a situation where things haven’t gone as planned?”

Here’s what she said, “After I finished hugging them and crying with them, I’d tell them, ‘Hang on to the Lord with everything you’ve got.’ For me, clinging to the Lord for all I was worth is what got me through.” She continued, “As I went through that situation, I didn’t feel like I had anything left to give. I knew I should read my Bible and worship, but I just couldn’t even muster the strength to do that. But the Lord assured me that He was with me. I didn’t have to be able to do anything. He held on to me. That’s not a comfortable place. It’s a very vulnerable place. But in the end, He is good.”

Scripture says, “For the sake of Christ, then, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities. For when I am weak, then I am strong” (2 Corinthians 12:10).

Things don’t always go the way we planned. Some situations we would prefer to avoid. But “in the end, He is good.” Yes, He is!

This entry was posted in Scriptural Perspective, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In the End, God Is Good

  1. Mark L says:

    once again, an arrow to my heart!

Leave a Reply

