Nothing False

Jesus with Nathanael and PhilipI don’t know about you, but I take hope in Nathanael, one of Jesus original disciples. It looks like Nathanael was quick to say what he thought, and he was apparently not at all interested in being politically correct in his outbursts. When his brother, Philip, first told him about Jesus, Philip mentioned that Jesus was from Nazareth. “Nathanael said to him, ‘Can anything good come out of Nazareth?’” (John 1:46).

Nathanael hadn’t even met the guy yet, but he was already pronouncing judgment on Jesus.

Numerous times over the years, I’ve had to apologize for saying something I probably shouldn’t have said. Much too frequently, thoughts come into my mind, and, before I give them much consideration, they come flying out of my mouth. Much like Nathanael, right? “Nazareth? You gotta be kidding me! What good could possibly come from there?”

But I take hope in Jesus’ comment about Nathanael. At their very first encounter—apparently shortly after Nathanael’s statement about Nazareth—Jesus saw Nathanael and said, “Behold, an Israelite indeed, in whom there is no deceit!” (John 1:47). The NIV phrases it, “in whom there is nothing false.” Nathanael isn’t hiding anything. What you see is what you get. And the way it’s worded sounds like a commendation from Jesus, doesn’t it?

Please understand that I am not trying to justify my blurting out whatever I think. Although I still have a very long way to go, I have learned to try to control my tongue and not say just anything that pops into my head. At the same time, though, it is good to have people who are totally honest with you, and with whom you can be totally honest. No deceit. Nothing false. When used correctly, those are good characteristics.

This entry was posted in Scriptural Perspective and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

