The Proper Posture for Prayer

I came across this poem recently, and thought it was pretty profound. What do you think?

prayer posture“The proper way for man to pray,” said Deacon Lemuel Keyes; “the only proper attitude is down upon his knees.”

“Nay, I should say the way to pray,” said Reverend Doctor Wise, “is standing straight with outstretched arms with rapt and upturned eyes.”

“Oh, no, no, no,” said Elder Snow, “such posture is too proud. “A man should pray with eyes fast-closed and head contritely bowed.”

“It seems to me his hands should be austerely clasped in front, with both thumbs pointing to the ground,” said Reverend Doctor Blunt.”

“Last year I fell in Hodgkin’s well headfirst,” said dear old farmer Brown, “with both my heels a-stickin’ up, my head a-pointing’ down; and I done prayed right then and there; best prayer I ever said, the prayin’est prayer I ever prayed, a-standin’ on my head.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Proper Posture for Prayer

  1. sheryl struse (formerly from RCC in MP, IL) says:

    I believe it is respectful to prepare oneself to pray @ certain scheduled times, but most of us talk to God throughout the day wherever or whatever we are doing, right? Those conversations with our Lord are listened to just as much as those who may be in front of a cross, alter, etc.

Leave a Reply

