A Strange Conversation

a strange conversationThe conversation seemed pretty strange. “I know he’s not quite six feet tall – maybe 5’10” or 5’11”. He’s in good shape, probably about 180 pounds or so.”

I looked at him quizzically. “But do you ever get together with him?”

“Well, we don’t really talk. But I know his parents were from Belgium. They came to this country just before he was born. And his favorite food, strangely enough, is burritos.”

I tried another query. “But have you spent any time together?”

“Well, I’ve been researching, checking historical records. Did you know the Mormons have some great information about family histories? I found out that he had a brother. I always thought he was an only-child. I had no idea he had a sibling. And I also found out that he spent most of his growing up years just outside of Detroit. A little town called Brighton. Now it’s actually a suburb, but not back then.”

I interrupted and tried raising my voice, hoping to force an answer. “He’s your father and you never spend any time with him?!” I tried to make the question sound as incredulous as I intended it to be.

“Actually, since I spend practically every waking hour finding out more and more about him – did you know that his favorite color is red? – I don’t really have much time for anything else.”

I’ve written a lot about theology in the past. I consider myself to be a theologian of sorts. Honestly, I think all Christians have an obligation to be theologians. We should know everything we can about God through His Word. But when it’s all said and done, the outcome of theology must be actually knowing the Lord.

I have encountered too many people who know all about God, but don’t really know Him. Like my fictional conversation above, they can recite facts and figures, citing the passages and the historical context. They can list off attributes and a careful explanation of each based on the original language. Yet, with all that, there is no relationship.

That’s even sadder than my fictional story above.

Don’t ever spend all your time learning about God, but not truly knowing God. Jesus didn’t die and rise again so we could have brains full of information about Him. He did it so we could once again have a real relationship with God Himself.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Strange Conversation

  1. Thanks, Tom. This is so important. It’s so easy to forget that the point is to know God, not just about Him. I appreciate your creative reminder.

Leave a Reply

