Is the Song in You?

cardinal songbirdRecently I met a woman at one of our Worship Seminars. She told me that when she was young, their family had a pet cardinal. The baby bird had apparently fallen from a nest and been abandoned by the mother. Their family took in the cardinal and raised it as a pet.

The bird had one strange peculiarity, though. It didn’t sing. Never. Wild cardinals outside the window sang, but this one didn’t. The woman told me she realized the reason. No one had ever taught it the song. No one around the bird knew the cardinal song, so it never learned to sing.

That’s sad. A songbird without a song.

But even sadder is a Christian with no song. I’m not talking about someone who is not a good singer. I mean someone with no song coming from inside, no song springing forth because of the goodness and greatness of God.

If you happen to be in that category, I would encourage you to hang around with others who have a song. Let their song filter into your life. Learn the song—for the first time or once again—but, either way, sing it. You might be a bit tentative at first. That’s okay. It’s not about how prettily you can vocalize. You need to let the praises of the Almighty spring from your lips.

Because your steadfast love is better than life, my lips will praise you. So I will bless you as long as I live. (Psalm 63:3-4)

This entry was posted in Scriptural Perspective. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Is the Song in You?

  1. Beck says:

    What excellent advice. I’m so thankful for those around me that sing a variety of beautiful songs, sometimes with their voices and sometimes their actions.

Leave a Reply

