Aches and Pains… and Eternity

Prior to writing this, I have spent the last two days on the roof of my son’s house. I was helping him, and a couple of others, put new shingles on. His roof had been severely damaged in a recent hail storm. So I offered to assist in order to save him some money on the project.

This morning, though, I ache everywhere. Muscles I didn’t even know I had are crying out in pain. I’ve joked that my left little toe and my hair don’t hurt. Other than that, it’s pretty much all the rest. And we won’t even talk about the glow-in-the-dark, bright red sunburned places that I obviously missed with the sunblocker.

I’m feeling really old this morning. (For the sake of my family and friends, I’ll admit that I am really old, but today I’m actually feeling it.)

But here’s my great consolation: I’m only passing though in this life. I’m just an alien here. “Our citizenship is in heaven” (Philippians 3:20). I’ll work ‘til my time here is done. After that, I’m going to my real home. A home that is eternal, imperishable, incorruptible, and, best of all, with God.

Yes, we experience aches and pains in this life – I am keenly aware of that this morning – but they’ll all pale in comparison when we finally look on His face.

This entry was posted in Scriptural Perspective. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

